banner_gamerz.gif (6081 bytes)

Help For Plotto


Welcome to the network Plotto server. The rules of Plotto are below. The plotto "challenge" command is described here. Other commands are the same for all pbmserv games.

plotto challenge userid1 userid2 [ userid3 [ userid4 ] ]
plotto challenge userid1 userid2 [ -tournament ]
Start a new game. Up to four players may play plotto.

The "-tournament" option is for two player games only. In this variant, userid1 wins with a "1xx3" line, and userid2 wins with a "2xx4" line.

Rules for Plotto

Copyright (c) 1995 David Smith. 37 Bannister Place, Christchurch, NZ All Rights Reserved. Reprinted with permission.

The game of Plotto.

The players place one hex shaped piece in turn onto an open space (no board). Pieces are numbered either 1, 2, 3 or 4 and you may play a piece of any number at each turn.

First piece is played onto the center of the playing area.

Second piece must attach to any edge of the first piece.

Each piece played thereafter must attach to edges of at least two pieces.

No piece may be attached to a piece of the same number as itself.

First straight line of four pieces with a players number at each end wins for that player.

If a winning line is formed for more than one player in any turn by one of the players, that player wins. If made by any other player, play continues.

The server will display the position after each move using the letters a, b, etc. to indicate where the next piece may be played. The letters are reassigned after each move, starting with column one.

Example board layout.

      c  __ e
   a  __/3 \__
   __/2 \__/2 \
  /1 \__/4 \__/
  \__/3 \__/f
   b \__/1 \
      d \__/

Valid moves for the board above are: a3, a4, b2, b4, c1, c4, d2, d5, e1, e4 and f3. Playing e1 will result in a win for player one no matter which player makes the move. Also, playing 2b will result in a win for player two.

Common questions.

Q: Must I only play pieces bearing my win number?
A: No. You may play a piece of any number at each turn as long as it is not the same number as any of the pieces it is placed in contact with.

Q: Must I have played all the pieces in the winning line?
A: No. All pieces no matter who played them may be potentially part of anyone's winning line. You even win if an opponent plays a piece that creates a winning line for you.

Q: Must the two middle pieces in a winning line be any particular numbers?
A: No. They may be any numbers other than your number.

Q: Must a winning line be only four pieces long?
A: Not necessarily. There may be other pieces beyond either or both ends of the line of four.

Q: May pieces be played to "bridge gaps"?
A: Yes. That will create a hole or holes that usually may no longer be legally played to.


he_pb.gif (2326 bytes)